Thailand extends e-visa service to nine more destinations

By Hoang Phong   November 15, 2022 | 03:44 am PT
Thailand extends e-visa service to nine more destinations
Tourists walk at the beach in Phuket, Thailand, March 8, 2022. Photo by Reuters/Jorge Silva
Thailand has extended its e-visa service to nine more countries, raising to 23 the number of countries and territories whose nationals can benefit from this service.

Prominent among the 23 countries and territories are Canada, the U.S., U.K., South Korea and China, The Thaiger reports.

The extension took effect at the beginning of this month.

Thailand, one of the first countries in Southeast Asia to fully reopen its tourism industry, welcomed about 7.35 million foreigners in the first 10 months of this year. It expects to attract 10 million foreigners this year.

The country is offering 45-day visa-free stay for tourists from over 50 countries including Vietnam.

Vietnam currently offers 30-day single-entry e-visas to citizens of 80 countries and territories, and visa exemption for visitors from 24 countries.

The Vietnamese government has sought recommendations from the tourism, foreign affairs and public security ministries on expanding the list of countries for e-visa issuance.

go to top