Vietnam to face Indonesia in 2024 ASEAN Cup group stage

By Hoang An   May 21, 2024 | 01:00 am PT
Vietnam to face Indonesia in 2024 ASEAN Cup group stage
AFF president Khiev Sameth shows a lot that says "Vietnam" at the ASEAN Cup group stage draw in Hanoi on May 21, 2024. Photo by VnExpress/Hieu Luong
Vietnam has been drawn into Group B with Indonesia, Philippines, Myanmar and Laos at the 2024 ASEAN Cup, previously the AFF Cup.

AFF president Khiev Sameth conducted the draw in Hanoi on Tuesday and Vietnam will meet Indonesia, one of their biggest rivals in Southeast Asia.

In the most recent three encounters, Vietnam under former coach Philippe Troussier lost all three with no goals scored and five conceded.

Meanwhile, Thailand, the most decorated team at the tournament, will have a much easier time with teams like Malaysia, Singapore and Cambodia in Group A. The remaining spot in the group will be decided by a playoff between Brunei and Timor Leste.

Coaches Kim Sang-sik of Vietnam, Masatada Ishii of Thailand and Kim Pan-gon of Malaysia were all present at the draw ceremony. However, Indonesia's Shin Tae-yong was absent and captain Kombes Pol Sumardji was there instead.

The group stage of the 2024 ASEAN Cup. Photo by AFF

The group stage of the 2024 ASEAN Cup. Photo by AFF

The 2024 ASEAN Cuphas 10 participating teams, divided into two groups of five. Teams from the same seeded group will not meet in the group stage.

Teams play in a round robin format in the group stage, with home and away matches. The top two teams in each group will advance to the semifinals. The tournament will take place from Nov. 23 to Dec. 21.

Vietnam will begin by playing in Laos on Nov. 24, then return home to host Indonesia on Nov. 30. They will be guests in the Philippines on Dec. 3, four days before hosting Myanmar in the final group stage game.

This will be the 15th edition of the ASEAN Cup, which was established in 1996.

Vietnam have won the title twice, in 2008 and 2018. Thailand have the most titles with seven, followed by Singapore with four, while Malaysia won once in 2010. Indonesia are considered the runner-up king, having been to the final six times but failed to win any.

go to top