Vietnam party committee 'reaches consensus' on presidential, parliamentary positions

By Pham Du   May 17, 2024 | 09:53 pm PT
The Communist Party's Central Committee has reached a consensus on plans for Vietnam's president and National Assembly chairperson positions, Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong said Saturday.

"A high level of concensus" was reached following "democratic discussions and careful consideration," Trong said in his speech to close the ninth session of the 13th Central Party Committee, which lasted three days.

The National Assembly's Party unit will recommend the personnel plans for the National Assembly, Vietnam's legislature, to vote on them tt the next session, which is expected to open on May 20.

Nguyen Phu Trong, General Secretary of Vietnams Communist Party, speaks at the Central Party Committees meeting in Hanoi on May 18, 2-24. Photo by Xuan Hoa

Nguyen Phu Trong, General Secretary of Vietnam's Communist Party, speaks at the Central Party Committee's meeting in Hanoi on May 18, 2024. Photo by Xuan Hoa

The recommendation of new leaders followed the exit of former President Vo Van Thuong and former chairman of the National Assembly Vuong Dinh Hue from their positions.

On March 20, the Central Party Committee granted Thuong’s request to step down from his positions as president, member of the Politburo, member of the Central Party Committee, and chairman of the National Defense and Security Council.

The National Assembly officially voted for him to step down the next day. Vo Thi Anh Xuan, previously vice president, is now acting president.

On May 2, the National Assembly granted Hue’s personal request to step down as chairman, after the Central Party Committee approved his resignation.

In accordance with Central Party Committee regulations, a state president and a National Assembly chairperson must have been a member of the Politburo for at least one five-year term, with exceptions approved by the Committee.

The 13th Central Party Committee's ninth session saw another major leadership change. It agreed on Thursday to relieve Truong Thi Mai of her position as Permanent Member of the Secretariat per her personal request.

Director of the General Department of Politics Luong Cuong has been assigned by the Politburo to replace her.

Also on the opening day of the session, the committee added four personnel to the Politburo: Le Minh Hung, head of the Party Organization Commission; Nguyen Trong Nghia, head of the Commission for Information and Education; Bui Thi Minh Hoai, head of the Party Central Mass Mobilization Commission; and Do Van Chien, head of the Central Committee of the Vietnam Fatherland Front.

go to top