Football legends to line up in new over-35 World Cup

By Hoang An   February 8, 2024 | 09:00 pm PT
Football legends to line up in new over-35 World Cup
The poster of the EPG Cup, slated to take place in June.
Some of the greatest football players are set to participate in the new World Cup for players over 35, which will take place in England this summer.

In the very first edition of the tournament, organized by the Elite Players Group (EPG), eight previous winners of the FIFA World Cup will be featured, who are Brazil, Argentina, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, England and Uruguay. The tournament’s official name is EPG Cup.

Each team can register a maximum of 25 members, including 18 players. Participating players in the tournament must be 35 years old or older, have played for the national team or played at least 100 matches in national leagues.

According to the Daily Mail, England will feature famous players such as Ashley Cole, Joe Cole, Rio Ferdinand, David James, Frank Lampard or Robbie Fowler, along with captain Steve McManaman.

The captains of the remaining seven teams are Esteban Cambiasso (Argentina), Emerson Rosa (Brazil), Christian Karembeu (France), Kevin Kuranyi (Germany), Marco Materazzi (Italy), Michel Salgado (Spain) and Diego Lugano (Uruguay).

The tournament is also expected to bring together five players who have won the Ballon D’Or: Michael Owen, Kaka, Ronaldinho, Rivaldo and Fabio Cannavaro.

In addition, many stars will also play such as Thierry Henry and Marcel Desailly (France), Hernan Crespo and Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina), Mesut Ozil and Sami Khedira (Germany), David Villa and Carlos Puyol (Spain), Francesco Totti (Italy) or Diego Forlan (Uruguay).

Each team will have unlimited substitution. Each match will be 70 minutes with no extra time. If there is a tie, the teams will have a penalty shootout to find the winner.

go to top