Argentina advance to World Cup final after beating Croatia 3-0

By Hoang Nguyen       DEC. 14, 2022

Argentina advanced to the final of 2022 World Cup with Messi’s goal and Alvarez’s double against Croatia.

  • 90'+5
    Time's up

    Argentina are off to the final with a 3-0 victory over Croatia with goals from Messi and Alvarez.


    Argentina players celebrate after the final whistle. Photo by Reuters

  • 90'

    Five minutes are added to the second half. Argentina are close to the final.

  • 88'

    Mac Allister and Molina made way for Correa and Foyth as Scaloni put key players out to save stamina for the final.

  • 85'

    A corner for Croatia on the right. Majer crossed to the near post and Perisic flicked on. The ball found Lovren at the far post, but he couldn't get a shot.

  • 81'

    Modric left the field as everyone in the entire stadium gives him a warm ovation. This will be his last World Cup game for Croatia.

  • 74'

    A double change for Argentina as De Paul and Alvarez made way for Palacios and Dybala, who had his 2022 World Cup debut.

  • 70'
    Third goal for Argentina

    A brilliant Messi dribbled down the right flank, inside the box and passed to Alvarez to get a tap-in. Gvardiol tried to stop Messi, but couldn't succeed. The game is pretty much set for Argentina.

  • 63'

    Lovren should have scored from a header, but it lacked power. A goal would have been vital for Croatia.

  • 62'

    Argentina put Lisandro Martinez, a defender in for midfielder Leandro Paredes.

  • 58'

    Messi dribbles down the left flank, then one-twos with Alvarez, and enters the box. He faced Livakovic, but can’t force the ball past the keeper.

Argentina made two changes in the starting eleven that won on penalties against the Netherlands for Tuesday's World Cup semi-final against Croatia, who named an unchanged line-up.

Nicolas Tagliafico will start as left-back in place of suspended Marcos Acuna while Leandro Paredes comes into midfield with defender Lisandro Martinez on the bench.

Croatia will start with the same team that beat Brazil, also on penalties, in the quarterfinals.

Argentina: Emiliano Martinez, Cristian Romero, Nicolas Otamendi, Nahuel Molina, Nicolas Tagliafico, Leandro Paredes, Rodrigo De Paul, Alexis Mac Allister, Enzo Fernandez, Julian Alvarez, Lionel Messi.

Croatia: Dominik Livakovic, Borna Sosa, Ivan Perisic, Dejan Lovren, Mateo Kovacic, Andrej Kramaric, Luka Modric, Marcelo Brozovic, Mario Pasalic, Josko Gvardiol, Josip Juranovic.

go to top