Vietnam issues e-visa for all countries, extends visa-free stay

By Viet Tuan   August 14, 2023 | 05:56 am PT
Vietnam issues e-visa for all countries, extends visa-free stay
Passengers check in at Noi Bai airport in June 2022. Photo by VnExpress/Ngoc Thanh
Vietnam has decided to grant e-visas to citizens of all countries and territories entering Vietnam from August 15, according to a government resolution on Monday.

Until now, Vietnam has only been granting 30-day single-entry e-visas to citizens of 80 countries.

The new e-visa, issued by the Vietnam Immigration Department to foreigners through the electronic transaction system, will be valid for multiple entries within 90 days.

Thirteen airports that allow foreigners to enter and exit Vietnam by e-visa, include Noi Bai, Tan Son Nhat, Cam Ranh, Da Nang, Cat Bi, Can Tho, Phu Quoc, Phu Bai, Van Don, Tho Xuan, Dong Hoi, Phu Cat and Lien Khuong.

The 16 land border gates that allow e-visas are Tay Trang (Dien Bien Province), Mong Cai (Quang Ninh), Huu Nghi (Lang Son), Lao Cai, Na Meo (Thanh Hoa), Nam Can (Nghe An), Cau Treo (Ha Tinh), Cha Lo (Quang Binh), La Lay and Lao Bao (Quang Tri), Bo Y (Kon Tum), Moc Bai and Xa Mat (Tay Ninh), Tinh Bien and Vinh Xuong (An Giang) and Ha Tien (Kien Giang).

Thirteen sea border gates also allow e-visas: Hon Gai and Cam Pha (Quang Ninh), Hai Phong, Nghi Son (Thanh Hoa), Vung Ang (Ha Tinh), Chan May (Thua Thien Hue), Da Nang, Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa), Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh), Dung Quat (Quang Ngai), Vung Tau (Ba Ria Vung Tau), HCMC and Duong Dong (Kien Giang).

Also on Monday, the government decided to extend the duration of stays in Vietnam from 15 to 45 days for citizens of 13 countries who are unilaterally exempted from visas by Vietnam.

These countries are Germany, France, Italy, Spain, the U.K., Russia, Japan, South Korea, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Belarus. Citizens of these countries are allowed to stay for 45 days from the time of entry, regardless of passport type and entry purpose.

The visa relaxation, which was approved by the National Assembly in June, aims to help attract tourism, investment, business cooperation and scientific research.

go to top