Vietnam to start vote on new president and National Assembly chair Monday

By Son Ha   May 19, 2024 | 12:00 am PT
The National Assembly will begin the process of electing the state president and NA chairman on Monday, the opening day of its seventh session.

The NA chairman will be first voted and then the president, NA General Secretary Bui Van Cuong said at a press conference on Sunday.

On Saturday, the Central Party Committee recommended public security minister To Lam to become Vietnam's president and standing vice chairman of the NA Tran Thanh Man as its chairman.

"At the ninth session of the 13th Central Party Committee, the committee has not yet introduced personnel for the Minister of Public Security, so the National Assembly would not approve or dismiss this position at the session," Cuong added.

Deputy Head of the Delegate Affairs Committee Nguyen Tuan Anh also said that for now, the NA would not elect a new vice chairman but is waiting for the competent authority to consider and introduce it. After that, it will conduct an election for the position according to regulations.

To Lam, 67, is the current Minister of Public Security. He was assigned by the prime minister in 2009 to become the head of Security Department 1.

Đại tướng Tô Lâm tại phiên họp Quốc hội ngày 24/6/2023. Ảnh: Media Quốc hội

Minister of Public Security To Lam. Photo courtesy of National Assembly Media

He became the deputy public security minister in 2010, then public security minister in 2016.

He is also the current deputy head of the Central Steering Committee on fighting corruption.

Tran Thanh Man, 62, was the chairman of Can Tho City People's Committee, secretary of Can Tho Party Committee and head of the Vietnam Fatherland Front Central Committee.

Since April 2021, he has been vice chairman of the National Assembly.

Ông Trần Thanh Mẫn. Ảnh: Media Quốc hội

Vice chairman of the National Assembly Tran Thanh Man. Photo courtesy of National Assembly Media

The seventh session will last 27 days in two phases. The first phase takes place from May 20 until June 8 and the second phase covers June 17-28.

The session is expected to pass 10 bills, including revised laws on social insurance and road traffic safety, among others.

The election of new leaders followed the exit of former President Vo Van Thuong and former chairman of the National Assembly Vuong Dinh Hue from their positions.

On March 20, the Central Party Committee granted Thuong’s request to step down from his positions as president, member of the Politburo, member of the Central Party Committee, and chairman of the National Defense and Security Council.

The National Assembly officially voted for him to step down the next day. Vo Thi Anh Xuan, previously vice president, is now acting president.

On May 2, the National Assembly granted Hue’s personal request to step down as chairman, after the Central Party Committee approved his resignation. Man has been assigned to operate the National Assembly in his stead.

go to top