Vietnam foreign ministry proposes visa exemption resumption

By Viet Anh   March 3, 2022 | 05:00 am PT
Vietnam foreign ministry proposes visa exemption resumption
Foreigners arrive at Tan Son Nhat Airport in HCMC, March 18, 2020. Photo by VnExpress/Huu Khoa
The Foreign Affairs Ministry has proposed that Vietnam resumes its erstwhile visa exemption policy and is awaiting a final decision from the prime minister on the issue.

Ministry spokeswoman Le Thi Thu Hang said this at a Thursday press meet in response to an inquiry about the status of the visa exemption policy that was in force before the Covid-19 pandemic prompted its suspension and the nation to close its borders in March 2020.

The question was asked in the context of Vietnam fully reopening its borders to inbound tourism starting March 15.

Hang said the ministry's proposal aimed at contributing to socio-economic recovery and development, strengthening international integration in new normal times, and creating favorable conditions for trade between Vietnam and other countries and territories.

The ministry proposed implementing regulations on the granting of visas and visa exemptions in line with the provisions of the Law on Foreigners' Entry Into, Exit From, Transit Through, and Residence in Vietnam, as well as other guidance documents on quarantine and other entry restrictions.

The ministry has recommended that the country resumes its bilateral visa exemption policy as per international treaties and agreements with countries on the basis of reciprocity, abolishing the requirement for personnel approval and local isolation.

The ministry has also asked that the unilateral visa exemption policy with 13 countries, Belarus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Norway, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, and the U.K., be resumed.

"Once these measures are adopted, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs will provide the information so that people, businesses and foreigners can quickly learn these updates for implementation," Hang said.

Vietnam has added one more partner, Singapore, to the list of countries it has a mutual vaccine passport acceptance agreement with. The previous 14 partners are Australia, Belarus, Cambodia, Egypt, India, Maldives, New Zealand, Japan, the Philippines, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Turkey, the U.S, and the U.K.

go to top