81 countries, territories accept Vietnam's vaccine passport

By Tien Anh   May 12, 2022 | 07:11 am PT
81 countries, territories accept Vietnam's vaccine passport
A man receives a Covid-19 vaccine shot in HCMC's Thu Duc City, October 2021. Photo by VnExpress/Quynh Tran
Vietnam's vaccine passport has been accepted by 27 EU member states and 54 other countries and territories, the foreign ministry announced Thursday.

The European Commission issued a decision Wednesday, accepting Vietnam's vaccine e-passport, Foreign Ministry deputy spokesman Doan Khac Viet said at a press meet.

The decision means 27 EU member states accept Vietnam's vaccine passport; and the passport's QR codes can also be verified within the territories of 39 partners participating in the EU's e-vaccine passport network.

Vietnam has also reached agreements for mutual vaccine passport acceptance with 20 other countries: Australia, Belarus, Cambodia, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Malaysia, Maldives, New Zealand, Palestine, the Philippines, Saint Lucia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Turkey, the U.K. and the U.S.

Following the European Commission's decision, Vietnam's vaccine passport can now be used in 81 countries and territories, Viet said.

The vaccine passport has been issued by the Ministry of Health starting April 15. Their QR codes expire 12 months after their creation.

Over 10 million Vietnamese now have got their vaccine passports, the ministry announced Tuesday.

go to top